Introducing: The woman behind the horse!

…or is it the woman on the horse? Anywho…

Now that I’ve introduced Spot to you all, I figure I should write a little blurb about myself.

I started riding when I was about 7 years old after having watched my older sister ride for a few years. I did a lot during my early riding years, like gymkhana, some barrel racing, and western riding but ended up settling into the hunter/jumper scene when I was about 10. I loved jumping and would pretty much get on anything at the time. My parents on the other hand could barely stand to watch me ride as they were terrified of seeing me fall off, which happened on more than one occasion. I leased several horses and competed the local circuit since my parents were sure that this horsie obsession was just a young girl phase I was going through. Well, they were wrong about that obviously, ha!

After graduating high school, I went off to college and resigned myself to a horseless-ness I was at the time hoping to go to med school and majoring in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Luckily for me, one of my dorm-mates was also an avid equestrian and we happened to see a posting for the college polo club. We both signed up and off we went to play the Sport of Kings! I thought to myself while on our way to our first polo clinic, “oh this is going to be a snap…I’ve ridden for so many years and I’ve got great hand eye coordination”, boy was I wrong. That first time playing polo (well it could barely be called playing) I couldn’t even hit the damn ball, let alone the wrist strength for a correct mallet swing. The next day, I could barely even walk, worst of all I could barely write, which made for very interesting O-chem notes. I worked as a research assistantย for a Phd student in a biochem lab and he sent me home to recuperate after he saw how bad my hand was shaking while trying to pipet.

Over the next few months I got better at managing to hit the ball at a standstill, then at a trot, and finally I was able to get a solid hit at the canter. I played polo for about 3 years in college, and even ended up teaching a bit! I went from barely being able to hit the ball to being able to play a full speed game. I think for one of my future posts I’ll give a overview/run down of how exactly polo works.

So now, if you’ve read the previous post about Spot, I’m dabbling a bit in Dressage which is a far cry from playing polo. My very detailed oriented brain loves the technical aspect of dressage and I really enjoy being able to take this journey with Spot. Though, she can be extremely frustrating to work with and I can get discouraged in our progress, I’m loving it. Spot is the first horse I’ve ever owned so being able to retrain her from polo pony to dressage pony has been quite the relationship builder. In the coming posts I will definitely be writingย about our training.

Thanks for reading! Oh, and here are a few pictures from today’s trail ride. ๐Ÿ™‚

image (8)

“I can haz treatz?!”

image (10)

Happy Trails!

image (9)

Oh, hai!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introducing: The woman behind the horse!

  1. allison says:

    Hello! How cool that you played polo!

    Like

  2. Karen M says:

    I am definitely looking forward to reading more about your polo experience. It always looks like so much fun!

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere! =) Amanda is inspiring lots of new bloggers which is awesome!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

