The Saddest Forelock in the World and 10 More Questions!

My poor Poneh has the saddest forelock ever. I don’t know what is up with it but it seems like she either rubs it out or one of her pasture mates is chewing it off. It must be her rubbing it off because I really can’t see Ms Sassy Spot letting anyone do that. She be Head Honcho out in pasture. Every year I have a losing battle with it and I’m kinda at the point at just letting it happen despite all my efforts. I curry/brush her face and wipe her down with a wash cloth all over her head to get at all the itchy spots, but alas it always ends up looking like this at the end of summer…

image (18)

Reminds me of a bad comb-over. x_x

Her forelock looks like this in the winter/early spring and I always get my hopes up that she’ll actually have one this year: 

image (21)

I call this her Hannibal Lecter mask but it clearly shows that she’s got some forelock.

Anyone have ideas on how to get it to grow out and stay that way? Perhaps one of you has a cure for Spot’s thinning forelock! 🙂


 

Moving on to 10 More Questions posted by Chasing The Dream!! 

This is a super fun one and I enjoyed answering them. 

1. If your horse was a person, who would they be? (you can generalize personality if you can’t think of someone).

Hmm…this is a bit of a difficult one. I have always imagined Spot having an Argentinian accent since she was imported from there, so definitely that. Also she’s can be super sassy at times so I feel like she channels some Regina George here and there, but she’s not mean out in pasture with her buddies and with new people she just like “ignore”. For some reason I’m feeling a Sofia Vergara/Regina George combination.

2. What is one (or two…or five) piece(s) of equipment you CANNOT live without.

My short flap dressage saddle, wool cooler for the winter, and my flashlight hoof pick! 

3. When did you start riding/ what discipline?  

I started riding around 8 and started in doing generic english riding, but that soon changed to HJ.

4. Do you have a barn dog? If so, what breed? 

Her name is Rio and she dances on the sand!! Well, not really as she doesn’t really like water so beaches aren’t her fav. She is a GSD that gets to come out to the barn for trail rides. She’s really quite good on the trail and around horses, but when I’m riding in the arena I have to tie her up because she just wants to follow us.

image (24)

Oh herro der!

image (22)

“I hear everything!!!”

image (23)

“Bunny?!”

 

5. Do you like doing stalls or nah?

I definitely don’t mind it, I use to board at a place where it was self clean so it was good exercise and stress relief after work. Oh, and a good “is this guy bf material” gauge as Hubs came out to help me clean before we started dating. Keeper for sure! 😛

6. What treat(s) does your horse go nuts over?

Pretty much anything. She does seem to like garlic flavored Ritz a lot, but pretty much any generic horsie treat.

7. If you’ve switched disciplines, why? If not, also why.

Did HJ until going to college and thought I would quit the riding until afterwards but I picked up horse polo. I wanted to try something different and I like variety. Now I’m dabbling in Dressage, I like the technical aspect of it and its something new.  I have just signed up for a Horseback Archery clinic so that should be interesting!

8. What is your least favorite discipline and why (yeah, I aint afraid to be scandalous)? 

Western Pleasure. I really don’t like the gimpy, head down to the ground gaits and such. 

9. Who is currently your favorite rider? 

Charlotte Dujardin, she’s such a graceful and talented rider.

10. What is your BIGGEST pet peeve regarding horses?
I really don’t like it when people say “should I put him/her into a frame?”. Also, I hate it when horse owners get their horses all sorts of joint injections when they know their saddle doesn’t fit but they don’t want to have to buy a new saddle. I know the question was just for 1 pet peeve, but damn do I get worked up with people ignore hoof care.  x_x 

Happy Tuesday Everyone!! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Saddest Forelock in the World and 10 More Questions!

  1. Karen M says:

    Your barn dog is oh so pretty and I love Duran Duran.

    Like

  2. emma says:

    aww poor forelock 😦 i haven’t tried it personally, but have heard that MTG can promote hair growth

    Like

    • peonyckw says:

      I do have a bottle of that stuff sitting in my tack room…maybe I should give it a try again. I’m thinking about adding flax to her grain so she gets more omegas. She can get a bit dandruff-y sometimes.

      Like

  3. bls says:

    auto’s forelock is pretty dinky, though by no one’s standards but my own (in that i covet insanely long and full forelocks). very curious about forelock growth serums that might be recommended.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I need a flashlight hoofpick!! 🙂 Also, I’ve heard that coconut is supposed to be good for hair growth before….http://www.savvyhorsewoman.com/2013/06/coconut-oil-for-horses-top-10-uses.html

    Like

  5. Austen says:

    Oh! Your dog is gorgeous! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Austen says:

    Also, you might try MTG or another deep conditioner rubbed into her forelock all summer long. Maybe she just gets a case of the itchy and dry scalp?

    Like

  7. Stacy C. says:

    MTG is great for hair growth. I’ve used it on my guys for rain rot as well as when they’ve had a scrape to get their fur growing in again. The last time it was a palm sized scrape on his lower neck. Looked like elephant skin. Put MTG on it, and I had fuzz in less than a week.

    You can also try hemorrhoid cream. I’ve used that to promote hair growth as well with great success. It’s a little easier in small spots though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

