Can I bum a ride?

It’s been about 2-2.5 weeks since I’ve been on a horse and I have full on withdrawal symptoms. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t been completely without horse interaction, but grooming and hand walking can only get you so far. On the plus side, Spot is ridiculously shiny and well groomed now and I’m think I’m going to practice my braiding skillz next.

Totilas-21

Like deeze smexy cobra braids!

So, as of late I’ve been kinda creepin around my barn

creep

pretty much like this

to see if anyone needs their horse ridden a day or two during the week or knows of anyone that has a horse/lama/cow (anything with four legs that can carry my weight at this point) ย that needs to be worked.

m0fr0

I approached one of the boardersย that has 3 horses at our barn, and 4-5 more at another location, if I could maybe bum a ride or two on her 3 red headed mares. She was like “oh yeah! I’ll write up a schedule for days you can ride!” so I now have some steeds to ride. I’m excited to ride her horses as they’re quite nice…she is a well known local breeder of Oldenburg and Hanoverians.

I’ve also scheduled a lesson with Nicole’s trainer this Friday! I’d like to start jumping again so this will hopefully get me back in the groove of things. However, I haven’t jumped in probably about 8-10 years so this could be interesting…the funny thing was when I scheduled my lesson the assistant trainer asked, “what height of course are you comfortable going around on?” and I responded, “uhhh…ground poles?” Needless to say, I’ll be doing ground poles for a bit, ha! Should make for an interesting post. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can I bum a ride?

  1. bls says:

    ZOMG, those braids. can you come to NSCS and teach me how to do them. LOVE. also, gurl, i feel your pain. i’ve even had two horses to ride, but can’t get on them because of the epic rain. it’s truly “water, water everywhere, and not a drop to drink.”

    what’s the latest with spot? any conclusive diagnosis?

    Liked by 1 person

    • peonyckw says:

      I haven’t even attempted those braids yet! I’ve been watching so many different videos on how to do them so I’m trying to decided which one would be best. I’ll for sure post pictures when I get around to trying to do those. ๐Ÿ™‚

      We’ll trade you some CA sunshine for some of your rain! Ponies need grass!

      No conclusive diagnosis..decided to forgo the U/S but MRI is scheduled for next month. I’m sure she’s pretty stoked that she hasn’t had to work any lately. >_<

      Like

  2. Can’t wait to see you Friday! I am jumping right after you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. emma says:

    super exciting about the lesson and potential catch rides! that’s pretty much what i had to do while my horse was out of commission, and she was only out for 3wks…. the struggle is real haha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eeee! So excited to hear your jump lesson goes!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

