Weekend Edition: Mounted Archery!

To preface, I’m a big ole nerd. I love anything having to do with ancient warfare, epic fantasy, and magic; like books, movies, and shows such as Lord of The Rings, Game of Thrones,  The Chronicles of Narnia, Princess Bride, Xena: Warrior Princess, and the list goes on. I honestly think these genres of books shaped the types of activities I did growing up. Swordplay? I was a competitive fencer for quite a few years. Archery? Did 2 quarters of it in college. Horseback riding? Well, obviously. 

So, when I came across Mounted Archery it was pretty much a no brainer for me. Riding horses while shooting bow and arrow? Uhhh….YES. So much awesome.

archery

PC: writinghorseback.com

I also might have a slight obsession with Legolas. Just sayin…the man is a sexy badass.

legolas-jumping-horse

I’m pretty sure this defies physics, but whatevs

Anyway, I found a mounted archery club called California Centaurs in my area and asked if they gave lessons. They got back to me saying that they did give lessons and after I told them about my riding skill level we set up a lesson time. Now that Andy is a pretty competent rider, he got to join in the fun too.

Having come from a solid riding background, I was able to progress pretty quickly during the lesson. They had both Andy and I start out with some lunge line work to see how comfortable we were riding without reins and if we were able to two point and twist around. Our instructor Hilary told us that mounted archery is mainly done in a deeper half seat in comparison to a jump 2 point; slightly longer stirrups and more of a crouch to bring the center of balance lower. She also introduced an archers training aid so we wouldn’t have to deal with the bulk of a bow right away.

s_la20

Basically an bow grip with an exercise band attached so you can practice your pull

We practiced with the training aid the 3 basic mounted archery shots:

1. Forward: Which is about 45 degrees off your horse’s shoulder

2. Side:

image (6)

The lovely Andy modeling the side shot.

3. Back: Same as the forward shot, but angling 45 degrees behind.

image (5)

Back shot

Once we had a good feel with getting into a half seat and practicing all the different shots we proceeded onto the “runway” as I’d like to call it.

image (7)

Hilary, our instructor for the day. She’s also an Eventer! Sorry its a little blurry

From here, we started by riding down the runway at a trot with our reins dropped to get a feel for the track and then progressed to practicing the 3 different shots while trotting. Maintaining your balance while in half seat and pulling a bow was a bit tricky, but by the 2nd time around it got easier. I’m so glad I had the riding part sorted out because I didn’t really have to worry about that part. Hilary said that some people come in with no experience in either sport so it can take them a long time to get to where we were on our 1st lesson.  For the last 2 runs of the day, we got to canter while getting off shots. The little MorganXConnemara I was riding had been trying to canter all day so she was happy when I let her go. Of course, this is worthless without video so here you are!

Andy:

Peony:

Afterwards, I got to practice on my archery on the ground and on their wooden horse for a bit, hopefully in preparation for the next lesson I take.  The archery aspect will def be the hardest part to get good at, but I think it would be easier than learning how to ride!

image (9)

And yes…that be an EIS sun shirt

image (10)

Ok precision…accuracy, not so much.

I think Spot would be a great mounted archery horse since she’s use to things flying around her head from polo, so hopefully once she’s sound (fingers crossed) I can work on desensitizing her to arrows and such.

So, along with taking jump lessons, and continuing to work on my dressage, I’ll add some mounted archery to the mix to keep everything exciting and fresh.

mounted_archery1

Mounted Archery + Jumping? = badassery Maybe this will be me! 😛

And lastly, if anyone is in the Northern California area and you’re interested in trying Mounted Archery I highly recommend you contact California Centaurs! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekend Edition: Mounted Archery!

  1. Carly says:

    Oh my gosh, that sounds like SUCH a blast!

    Like

  2. Amanda C says:

    Ok, that’s pretty awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emma says:

    so you pretty much do the coolest things ever with horses haha. i think Spot would love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • peonyckw says:

      Hahaha…aww, thanks girl! I definitely like mixing it up a bit. I think Spot would like it as she and Ricky Bobby have the same motto, “If you’re not first, you’re last”. Why walk when you can runnnn!!! 🙂

      Like

  4. This was so awesome!!! I must try some day.

    Like

  5. vanessajean says:

    Wow, so cool! I did not know this was a thing. It looks really fun.

    https://adventuresofarerider.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The only thing wrong with this post is that Legolas is obvious a sexy elf. Not man. 😉 #nerding

    And that looks AMAZING. Sooooooo want to try it.

    Like

  7. This is amazing! I want to try!

    Like

  8. Hannah says:

    Wow, that’s really cool! Looks like it was a blast!

    Like

Leave a Reply

