Weekend Report: Back in Business

image (12)

Umm…did you not get the memo about me being retired, mom?

I started tack walking Spot this week! I was given the OK by my vet to start last week, but I figure I would play it safe and give her an extra week of hand walking + turnout before I got back on her. The TO was key as Spot started to become quite the turd and decided since she hadn’t been in work for like 7 weeks she didn’t need manners anymore. Things like: refusing to pick up her feet, trying to drag me out to pasture, half rearing and trying to bolt when I pulled her out of pasture. All these antics are a big NO.

BS

We definitely had some Come to Jesus moments in the last week so hopefully no more nasty moments for a while.

When I got on her for the first time this weekend I was a bit worried she was going to pull a “High Ho Silver”, drop me on the ground and then high tail it off into the sunset waving a big foam middle finger at me. But, Lord be praised she was pretty much perfect. Except for spooking at the farm’s sheep which she has literally walked by and shared grazing time with for the last 6 months.

So begins the long rehab/condition journey for us! We’re doing 25 minutes of tack walking to start off then I’ll add 5 minutes of walking each week till we get to about 40 minutes. From there I’ll start adding in 5 minutes of trot and hopefully we’ll soon be back on our merry way to fancy prancing (ha). I got a great rehab schedule from Meganย ย so I’ll definitely be utilizing that as well.

In other riding news, I’ve been riding a fellow boarder’s horse named Stubby. She’s a cute little 14.3 Oldenburg mare that is pretty fiesty…makes sense since she’s a fiery red head. Though she is small, she moves quite big for her size and has been really fun to ride. I’ve been practicing riding some of the lateral movements on Stubby since she’s 1/2 Level and easier to ask for those movements than Spot. Also, though she is a hair smaller than Spot, Stubby is easier for me to sit the trot so it ย makes it easier for me to practice that too. That damn sitting trot is so elusive! Like a rainbow unicorn!

image (13)

Da Stubs!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend Report: Back in Business

  1. emma says:

    yay for rehab progress!!! Spot will be back in action in no time ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I want a rainbow unicorn. Welcome back!

    Like

  3. Megan says:

    Stubby is so cute!! I’m so glad you guys are on your way back! And I’m glad Rico’s numerous rehab schedules will be helpful, Spot will be back in no time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stubbeh! Can’t wait to visit her. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sitting trot= blah…. Yay for riding Spot again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sarah says:

    Yay welcome back! Glad Spot is getting back to work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

