The Comeback Kid…err..Post

Could this be a comeback for my adventures with Spot and other pony adventures? Could be! But for now, I’m hoping my readers (if there’s anyone left!) can help me out with a conundrum of mine.

Boarding. 

It’s pretty much a granted in most people’s horse lives, that is unless you keep your pony at home. I currently board at a lovely place, lets call it Barn A, and I had planned to move to a different place, Barn B, at the end of the month. Yes, I know…the end of the month is literally 5 days away.  The reason for my leaving Barn A is because it is expensive and the cost was getting a bit prohibitive, also sometimes the care is a little hit or miss. Barn B is cheaper, the people are just as nice, care is solid, and while the essentials are there (covered arena, good feed, and TO) it’s definitely not as nice as Barn A.

I told the BO of Barn A that I was leaving  and she was quite sad to see me go because I’m a super low key boarder, Spot is an easy horse to care for, and I’m pretty normal and sane when it comes to horse people. The other day, BO of Barn A asked if I would be willing to stay  if she reduced my board. She said the price would stay at that price for 2 years at least. That totally threw a wrench in my gears, because I was thinking the day before that I was going to be a little sad to leave Barn A.  If I take that offer, the price difference between the Barn A and Barn B would be $75. I’m totally torn now and was hoping if I could get ya’lls opinions. I’ve created a handy dandy Pro and Con list here below.  

BARN A:

  • Pros:
  • Actual Grass Pasture TO, pastures are about 2-3 acres in size
  • 3 Arenas with good footing to ride in. 1 is covered
  • Big Stall for Spot. 12×24 with attached paddock
  • Stubby, the other mare I ride is there
  • The property itself is beautiful
  • Small gallop track in the summer
  • Quiet barn, not too many boarders
  • Long drive way and paved route around the barn for hacks. Good for tendon building!
  • Good footing in arenas
  • Cons
  • Care can be hit or miss. Spot has not had water while in TO several times.
  • Feed can vary often. Sometimes Spot gets fed wayy more alfalfa that I want
  • Stall paddock fencing is a little rough and not super safe
  • TO will be very very limited in the winter/rainy season bc the BO is protective of the pastures
  • Expensive
  • BO can be strange and sometimes has yelling matches with her hubby

BARN B:

  • Pros:
  • Cheaper
  • Good quality feed
  • People are nice and horses seem happy
  • Good friend riding buddy boards there
  • Low key atmosphere
  • Care is good
  • Solid fencing in TOs
  • Cons: 
  • Property is not as nice in general
  • Arena is smaller, and only 1 arena
  • More boarders
  • TO is only for a few hours, and on dry lot
  • Stalls are mare motel stalls with no paddock
  • Would have to go back and forth between barns to ride Spot and Stubby

So, should I stay or should I go? Based on the above, would you still move or stay?  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Comeback Kid…err..Post

  1. Megan says:

    That’s such a tough one! I would kill for your barn’s green turnouts and indoor with good footing. But horse care is really really important. I probably wouldn’t want to leave without at least trying to address it if you haven’t already, or maybe trying to address it in a different way. But it could just be that this is how the barn is run and you kind of have to take it or leave it. I had a client’s horse become severely dehydrated just in the past month so that was really scary, but the barn is very hands off. They guarantee a certain amount of food each day (which they barely meet sometimes) and that’s it. But they’re not paying very much and there are almost no other options in the area. I dunno, what a hard decision!

    Like

    • peonyckw says:

      Right? I’m so confused on what to do! And those green pastures are definitely hard to give up, bc I know the grass really isn’t greener on the other side >_<

      I think that's a good idea though, to see if I can talk to Barn A about some of my issues. However, I don't know if it would really change as others have voiced this issue and it hasn't changed. :-/

      Like

  2. Stephanie says:

    That’s a tough decision! Turnout is a very important factor me when deciding where to board, because both horses enjoy being out and about and both stock up when stalled (even though their current stalls have small dry lots off the back and lots of space to move around!).

    I would address the care issues in the most non-confrontational way possible, i.e. approaching it from a place of “I am curious/concerned” not “I am accusing you of being neglectful/inattentive”. Even though addressing the issues has been futile for others, maybe it will work for you because you are low key and your barn owner would like to keep you?

    It sounds like Barn A is better suited for you, all other things being equal. Your horse gets good turnout, there are lots of places to ride, and you know what you’re getting since you’ve been there a while. If you feel like the care issues can be resolved, I’d stay there!

    Like

  3. peonyckw says:

    I totally agree with you! Turnout has always been one of the most important factors for me too. Spot enjoys and really does need her TO as she kinda becomes a loon if she’s in for more than a day or two.

    I definitely would approach the care issues with your way as well, the BO does get defensive about stuff so I have to tread carefully. I hope I would be able to get through to her!

    Thanks for giving me your opinion, really appreciate it! 🙂

    Like

  4. emma says:

    i certainly don’t envy your predicament – good luck 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erin says:

    What would happen if you backed out on Barn B and then later decided that Barn really wasn’t working? Would Barn B still have a spot for you if you wanted to move a few months from now?
    I guess it all come down to whether or not Barn A can address your concerns. It wouldn’t hurt to ask if BO was planning to update/grade the fencing in the foreseeable future.

    Like

  6. L. Williams says:

    Barn A for convenience 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  7. peonyckw says:

    Thank you all for responding!! I ended up staying with Barn A! Barn B was very nice and said that if I ever did need a place that Spot and I would be welcome. 🙂

    Barn A said that things will be in the works, but we will see if that happens. In the meantime, I’m glad I’m staying at Barn A.

    Like

Leave a Reply

