Coffin Injection Update

It has been about 3 weeks now since Spot’s coffin injection, and wow…there has been definite improvement!! The vet told us that it can take up to about 2 weeks for the injection to take it’s full effect and to slowly bring Spot back into work after 3-4 days of rest.

image1 (3)

Stall rest is el stupido

Of course, I was subconsciously hoping for a miracle right away and I was only slightly disappointed when she hadn’t become an amazing floaty GP pony.

charlotte-dujardin-valegro

Unrealistically expecting this for some reason. πŸ˜›

 

Coming back into work Spot felt a little stiff and was more to the left (injected front left coffin) than right, but I figured it was because she was stiff from being in her stall, not turned out, and having had an injection. I was really cautious with the amount of work we did and made sure to be extra careful about a good walking warm-up and cool down. But!! Literally 2 weeks after our injection Spot and I had probably the best ride we’ve had in a loooong ass time. She was soft and content our whole ride with good chewing and foam. Forward, though she could have been a bit more forward, and not fussy with her mouth or cranking her neck around like a giraffe. I was pretty freaking ecstatic. Here’s some video of the very end of our ride that Andy grabbed for me.

 

That ride was about a week ago, and I’ve had 2 other great rides since. Maybe this injection was the key! However, now I’m researching how to up my “leg care” game. I want to keep her as comfortable as possible, so maybe some Back on Track Wraps for her front legs? Poultice? Ice? Anyone have any thoughts?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Coffin Injection Update

  1. Megan says:

    You guys look awesome!! She’s such a nice mover, I’m glad she’s sound. For Rico’s tendons, I obsessively wrapped him, but I think with TC I’m going to try the BOT quick wraps that I bought for Rico years ago and never used (maybe just before and after rides, not overnight since I can’t get to the barn too often). I don’t know much about them though, but a lot of people I know swear by them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • peonyckw says:

      Aww, thanks! I was thinking the same too, BoT quick wraps right before and after we ride for like 15-20 minutes. I’m also thinking about getting a pair of BoT bell boots for when she’s in her stall. BoT All The Things!!!!

      Like

  2. KateRose says:

    Looking good you two! I have a BOT mesh sheet that I am in love with for my older guy. I have never done much in the way of leg protection but I would definitely encourage you to check them out. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • peonyckw says:

      Thanks! I’m definitely looking into the mesh sheet as well. Now that she’s feeling pretty good I’m thinking we’ll be able to do more work. The sheet will hopefully keep her happy!

      Like

  3. I LOVE BoT products. I actually bought a sheet for Annie over thanksgiving but it’s too small. Need a 75″ mesh sheet? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emma says:

    she looks lovely – i love her cute knees! so glad to hear that she’s feeling so good since the injection, fingers crossed she just keeps feeling better!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

