This one time..at Eventing Camp…

We freaking jumped some baby sticks and conquered the water!!!

But, lets start at the beginning shall we?

Since about last November, Nicole has been telling me about how awesome Adult Eventing Camp was and that I totally needed to go with them. If not to do some baby eventing, but to just trail ride and have an awesome weekend with a ton of other fun, horse crazy people. Sounded pretty amazing to me so I was pumped that I got to go for 2 of the 3 days. Another awesome thing was that Andy got to go too with his now lease horse! But more on that in a different post. πŸ˜›

Eventing camp however, didn’t start off on such a good foot. Spot is normally a great loader, but that morning she decided that she wasn’t down to go on a trip so early in the morning.

spot3

6:30 am Spot is not amused

IMG_7771

Wuttt?

We ended up leaving over an hour and a half late, but we were off to Camelot!

Dressage was the first thing on the docket for that day so after Spot got to settle in a bit, we headed out for a bit of dressage…which turned into more of Disasterssage.

Spot was really amped up while warming up and Β didn’t want to relax at all. Thinking back on it, we haven’t been away from home much and to Spot, going away from home meant going to a polo game. With all the other horses going about, she must have thought were were about to play polo, so of course she was amped. We had a pretty rough time with our test, especially with the horse eating flower boxes and the scary people down by the judges box, but we made it out alive. I remember telling Nicole, “I swear I know how to ride” and “she really is quite fancy at home”. This experience Β made me realize that I need to get Spot out more so we’re comfortable working in new places.

spot2

Dressage is hard

 

Later that afternoon was the stadium session of camp and I was a bit apprehensive about asking Spot to do more that day since it felt like her brain was a bit fried. But, after watching the first few groups go I decided to get on and just see how Spot was feeling. If she was still feeling frazzled I would just do a low school hack and call it a day. We were in the “baby” group with Andy and his horse Fallon, and C with her baby horse Hazel. Trainer B had all of us start with some easy trot poles and then progressed Andy to cross rails/verticals while C and I took our ponies over pole piles. I wasn’t really sure how Spot was going to respond to everything and I was so surprised when she perked her ears and totally went for it. We went from cantering pole piles to small cross rails without Spot batting an eye! She flewΒ over them like it was no big deal which lead to my new nickname and hashtag for her: The Flying Potato

potato

Why The Flying Potato you ask? Well, mostly simply because she’s round and she’s brown. This might have to become our new show name, or perhaps blog name?

I was so proud of her! My horsie mother heart almost burst, but here is some video of my little potato popping over sticks. Oh, and a bonus video of Andy.

Our first day of Eventing Camp had started a bit rough but ended really well! We definitely had things we needed to work on for our dressage and we had a great time popping over sticks. The next day would be the true test and see if I could convince Spot to go through water!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This one time..at Eventing Camp…

  1. Event camp sounds like so much fun!

    Like

  2. redheadlins says:

    Looks like a blast, love the flying potato!

    Like

  3. Erin says:

    Haha! Love the flying potato. Sounds like camp was a blast!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Megan says:

    One day I really really want to do something like this! I just need a horse who jumps. And also I need to jump. Sounds like such a blast and Spot looks so happy to be jumping!

    Like

  5. Olivia @ DIY Horse Ownership says:

    I want to go to Eventing Camp some year.

    Like

  6. Emma says:

    Cutest potato EVAR!!! Jealous of event camp and hangin with Nicole!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

